GTA Games Timeline: The Rise and Fall of Criminal Empires

GTA Games Timeline: Grand Theft Auto has been a legend in the video game business for more than 20 years, and it has been a fan favorite ever since it came out. Fans have been eagerly waiting for official news about the sixth numbered game in the series, but it doesn’t look like the next game will be out any time soon.

With all of the Grand Theft Auto games that have come out over the years, though, fans are still discovering some of the most important games of their own generations.

Most people think of a third-person view when they hear the name “Grand Theft Auto,” but the first games in the GTA series were more like arcade games and were played from an isometric view.

Fans of Chinatown Wars are used to the top-down view of the first few games in the series, which was called the 2D Timeline. However, the continuity that current players are used to didn’t start until Grand Theft Auto 3.

GTA’s 3D Universe Timeline

Fans like to find links between new and old games, but the games that came out before Grand Theft Auto 4 took place in a totally different 3D world. The different ways the series showed Liberty City show that the 3D age was about a different world.

GTA Games Timeline

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories (1984) – The story of Vic Vance came out after the rest of the series, which is kind of funny.

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City (1986) – The experiences of Tommy Vercetti took place in the 1980s. This game came out after the third main game in the series.

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (1992): CJ’s famous story moved from the East Coast to the West Coast, and characters from Vice City were given a happy ending.

Grand Theft Auto: Liberty City Stories (1998) was another prequel for the PSP. The story of Toni Cipriani is an underrated gem that continues the story of Salvatore Leone.

Grand Theft Auto 3 (2001) was the only game of its time to take place in the same year it came out. The story of the silent main character, Claude, had a big impact and set the stage for all the prequels that came after it.

GTA’s HD Universe Timeline

Grand Theft Auto 4 started the HD world timeline, especially when Niko Bellic showed up in Liberty City which Claude had never seen. Rockstar followed it up with an idea that was just as far from the previous universe’s timeline. It was the most cinematic game in the series up to that point.

GTA Games Timeline

Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City (2008) – All of the HD universe’s releases, including the stories of Johnny Klebitz and Luis Lopez in The Lost and the Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony, take place at the same time. All of these Liberty City books take place in the fall of 2008, and there are times when the three main characters meet and fight.

Grand Theft Auto: Chinatown Wars (2009) – One of the few games to return to the isometric viewpoint, the narrative of Huang Lee makes Chinatown Wars an underrated gem set in the separate world of the Triads.

Grand Theft Auto 5 (2013): This generation also had three main characters, but Franklin, Michael, and Trevor all made their mark in the same game. This game was a very modern take on the heist genre, with a tight story that only went back to 2004 once, during the prologue. It also had a plot that linked all of its characters.

Grand Theft Auto Online (2013 to Present) – The online part of Grand Theft Auto 5, which is still being updated a decade later, seems to have kept up with the real world over its many changes.

Grand Theft Auto 6 seems to take place in current times again, so it’s hard to say where the series could go from here.



Grand Theft Auto (GTA) has been a beloved video game series for over 20 years, with fans eagerly awaiting the sixth game. The series began with arcade games and an isometric view, with continuity starting with Grand Theft Auto 3.

Before Grand Theft Auto 4, games took place in different 3D worlds, such as Vice City Stories (1984), San Andreas (1992), Liberty City Stories (1998), and Grand Theft Auto 3 (2001).

The HD universe timeline began with Grand Theft Auto 4, followed by Episodes from Liberty City (2008), Chinatown Wars (2009), Grand Theft Auto 5 (2013), and Grand Theft Auto Online (2013).

Comments are closed.