Gujarat Election 2017: BJP continues winning streak, to Form Government sixth time in Gujarat

Ahmedabad:  In a winning streak, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has secured a sixth term in Gujarat after a high-pitched and bitterly-fought Assembly election. The Election Commission’s official trends for Gujarat show BJP leading in 99 seats, Congress+ in 77, Nationalist Congress Party in one, and others in one out of a total 182.

After a bit of a roller coaster ride in the first two hours, the leads for the Gujarat Assembly election have now more or less settled. The celebrations have begun in the BJP offices across the country, especially in Gujarat and the party headquarters in Delhi.

Counting of votes began at 8 am sharp and initial trends had indicated a close contest between the BJP and the Congress in Gujarat. Latest numbers in Gujarat show that the BJP has won 68 seats and is leading in 31 seats of 182 seats, the Congress has won 61 seats and is leading in 16 seats, NCP won 1 seat and others won 3 seats and leading in 2 seats.

Gujarat chief minister Vijay Rupani has won against Congress’s Indranil Rajguru and will retain the Rajkot West seat. Independent candidate activist-politician Jignesh Mevani has won with a margin of 19,696 votes from the Vadgam constituency. Young leader Alpesh Thakor has won from Radhanpur seat defeating Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Lavingji Thakor by a margin of nearly 18,000 votes.

The Sensex has closed 138 points higher after falling 800 points intraday, while the Nifty has ended the day 55 points after tumbling more than 250 points in the opening hour due to initial trends.

Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2017  

Party Lead Win L+W/182 2017 Vote share 2012 Results
BJP 31 68 99 49% 116(48%)
INC+ 16 61 77 41% 60(39%)
OTH 2 4 6 10% 6(13%)