WhatsApp could soon allow users to recall messages. If you mistakenly send a message to someone on WhatsApp next time, just chill because the popular messaging app’s much anticipated “unsend” or ‘delete for everyone’ feature is rolling out soon to all users.
According to WABetaInfo, a fan site that tests new WhatsApp features, the messaging app is finally testing the “Delete for Everyone” feature.
WABetaInfo in a tweet said, “The server finally works and it successfully recalls the message. It will be remotely enabled later and seen that WhatsApp ‘enabled’ their servers for the Delete for Everyone feature, it may really be enabled soon”.
DELETE FOR EVERYONE NEWS!
[AVAILABLE SOON!] pic.twitter.com/GQ6eqbNvSn
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) September 12, 2017
As per The Independent, this feature will enable users with ability to recall or unsend texts, images, videos, GIFs, documents, quoted messages and even status replies within a five-minute window.
However, messages that have already been read or sent more than five minutes ago cannot be recalled through this feature. The feature will be available for both the Android and iOS platforms.
“WhatsApp has added in beta the possibility to edit messages that you already sent. It is actually disabled by default and it’s under development,” an earlier WABetaInfo’s tweet read.
The users will be able to edit only recent messages and not the old ones.
With over 1.2 billion monthly active users, The Facebook-owned company has added a slew of features to make its platform more useful and fun. WhatsApp is available in more than 50 different languages around the world and in 10 Indian languages.